I refuse to blink a tear

I refuse to shed tears again
I refuse to bat an eyelid
I refuse to blink a tear

When a dead man
Walking in a living’s habiliment
Finally takes his inevitable bow
I refuse to blink a tear

It’s of no use
The dead grieving the dead

We all have a common denominator

In writing this short piece, the lines flowed effortlessly. The reason is not far-fetched.
I was chosen as one of the finalists for the Nego Poetry Corner contest earlier today(21/09/13). The poem I presented was the elegy I wrote for my younger brother(Fadipe Taiwo) who passed away early this year. You can check it here: http://wp.me/p2uk6r-C
Logging on to facebook after getting home, I read the news of the death of a final year student in University of Ibadan.
Yesterday, funeral rites was performed for a prominent member of my home church. I need not go on and on. Death has become so real to me that I no longer dread its stings. One of the things we have to live with as humans is that we can’t live forever. Death is inevitable.
After all has been said and done, what matters is eternity.
I fear not death, but eternity. For even if the holiest of men is not qualified, except for GRACE!

6 thoughts on “I refuse to blink a tear

Leave a comment